Donations are tax deductible

What You Can Do / Petitions

  1. Write letters to the DNR expressing your opinions. Contacts
  2. Tell the City of Sheboygan what you think about their greedy annexation plans. Contacts
  3. Let the Town of Wilson board and committee members know if you support litigation against the City of Sheboygan to try and stop the annexation. Contacts
  4. Speak Out! The impacts of this project are huge. Kohler continues to state they are building a “minimalist course" respecting the existing ecosystem. Share this on social media.
  5. Volunteer your time and talent. We can use all kinds of help, from ideas to designing or distributing information. Please contact Claudia Bricks, cjbricks@excel.net, 920-457-0525 or Mary Faydash, mary.faydash@gmail.com, 920-803-9001
  6. Please contribute $10 or more today on our GoFundMe or YouCaring drive. It will make a difference! Or mail your contribution to Friends of the Black River Forest, P.O. Box 804, Sheboygan, WI 53082-0804.

Tell the DNR you are opposed to the both the destruction of the beautiful, rare, open and forested Great Lakes sand dune ecosystem and the give away of publicly owned state park lands for the exclusive use and destruction by Kohler, a for-profit, private company.

    Tell the DNR that you are opposed to an easement over State Park lands as this violates LAWCON. The Kohler Company was denied an easement in 1984 because the DNR chose to follow the rules.  The issue is no different today and their request to use any State Park land should be denied.

     Tell the DNR Natural Resources Board to refuse to facilitate an amendment which ultimately will create precedent to give away state park land to a company for its private profit.

What Water, Wetland Protection is All About, according to the Wisconsin Supreme Court,1960

 

"A little fill here and there may seem to be nothing to become excited about. But one fill, though comparatively inconsequential, may lead to another, and another, and before long a great body may be eaten away until it may no longer exist. Our navigable waters are a precious natural heritage, once gone, they disappear forever," wrote the Wisconsin Supreme Court in its 1960 opinion resolving Hixon v. PSC and buttressing The Public Trust Doctrine, Article IX of the Wisconsin State Constitution.

DNR Contacts

Daniel Meyer, Secretary, (608) 266-2121, DNRSecretary@Wisconsin.gov

Kurt Thiede, Division Administrator, Land, (608) 266-5833, kurt.thiede@wisconsin.gov

Laurie Ross*, Executive Staff Assistant, (608) 267-7420, laurie.ross@wisconsin.gov

*Ask Laurie Ross to share your letter/email with board members on the Wisconsin Natural Resources Board

Mailing address for the above DNR contacts:

101 S. Webster Street PO Box 7921

Madison, WI 53707-7921

 

Kramasz, Kathi, Water Regulations/Zoning Specialist, (920) 892-8756, kathleen.kramasz@wisconsin.gov

More Contacts

City of Sheboygan:

Mayor Michael Vandersteen, (920) 459-3317
mayor.vandersteen@sheboyganwi.gov

City Administrator Darrell Hofland, 920-459-3315
Darrell.Hofland@sheboyganwi.gov

Dir. of Planning and Development Chad Pelishek,

(920) 459-3383 Chad.Pelishek@sheboyganwi.gov

Sheboygan County Zoning Department

  • Planning - 920-459-3060
  • Land Conservation - 920-459-1370

 

Town of Wilson Board:

John Ehmann, Chair . . . . 920-254-9362

chairman@townwilson.com

 

More DNR contacts:

Thomas A. Meyer

Acquisition and Public Land Designations of State Natural Areas, 608-266-0396,  thomas.meyer@wisconsin.gov

Kathy Kramasz

Water Management Specialist, 920-893-8531, kathleen.kramasz@wisconsin.gov

Carolyn Morgen

Kohler-Andrae NR Property Supervisor, 920-451-4082, Carolyn.Morgen@Wisconsin.gov

Jason Fritz

NR Region Program Manager,  608-266-2152, Jason.Fritz@Wisconsin.gov

Matt Wykle

Bureau of Natural Heritage Conservation, 608-267-2108

Matthew.wykle@wisconsin.gov

 

Groups:

National Wildlife Federation

1-800-822-9919

National Wildlife Federation

11100 Wildlife Center Drive

Reston, VA  20190

 

Bureau of Indian Affairs

Department of the Interior

Norman Pointe II Building

5600 W. American Blvd., Suite 500

Bloomington, MN 55347

Telephone:  (612) 713-4400, fax: (612) 713-4401

Elected Officials:

Governor Scott Walker
   http://walker.wi.gov/content/contact-us

Wisc State Parks Board liason

   Laurie.ross@wisconsin.gov

State Senator LeMahieu, Devin

     (608) 266-2056 
     Sen.LeMahieu@legis.wisconsin.gov

Representative Terry Katsma
     (608) 266-0656
     Rep.Katsma@legis.wisconsin.gov

Senator Glen Grothman

     (920) 907-0624 or (202) 225-2476

     Sen.Grothman@legis.wisconsin.gov

 

Groups:

US Army Corp of Engineers-St Paul District

   651-290-5729

Wisconsin Wetlands Association

   Kyle Magyera, 608-250-9971,

   policy2@wisconsinwetlands.org

Friends of Kohler Andrae

   info@friendsofkohler-andrae.com

John Muir Chapter of the Sierra Club-

   john.muir.chapter@sierraclub.org

Sierra Club

   elizabeth.ward@sierraclub.org

The Nature Conservancy

   member@tnc.org

WISPIRG- “Standing up to Powerful Interests”

   http://www.wispirg.org/contact

Wisconsin Historical Society, Archeology

   602-264-6400

Midwest Environmental Advocates

   advocate@midwestadvocates.org

EPA

   http://www.epa.gov/region5/contact.html

National Parks Conservation Association

   Midwest@npca.org

 

Cherish Wisconsin Outdoors Fund Info@CherishWisconsin.org

 Clean Wisconsin

   634 W. Main St. #300, Madison, WI 53703

   Phone: 608-251-7020

Gathering Waters Conservancy

   Mike Strigel, 608-251-9131 x14

   mike@gatheringwaters.org

Friends of the Earth DC

   1100 15th Street NW, 11th Floor

   Washington, DC 20005

   Phone: 202-783-7400

 

Friends of the Black River Forest has 501(c)(3) approval. This means that all donations are tax deductible.

Please contact us with any questions that you may have regarding a tax deducible gift to the organization.

Images and Design are © Copyright 2018 Friends of the Black River Forest